Anyone Can Be a Poet…

Credit: Photo by Forest and Kim http://www.desert-tropicals.com

Including me!

One of my readers, Joe Bunting asked me to do a guest post on writing poetry.

I could only respond in the same way my Peranakan auntie did when I asked her how she concocted her heavenly sambal udang belimbing –  she made me watch while she cooked; I watched myself as I began to string the words together.

You can read about the process today at www.thewritepractice.com.  It’s titled “Anyone can be poet!” I recommend the site to those with writers’ block. It has great daily exercises for warming up before we tackle the BIG one.

As for my string of words, here it is –

The Butterfly Tree
Looks are deceptive
Bees won’t visit
A butterfly tree has no essence

Instead 

Pink petticoat petals
Must part
To beckon the wind

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Anyone Can Be a Poet…”
  1. worshipboy says:

    I loved your post on The Write Practice! I really inspired me to be more thoughtful in painting word pictures. I tend to get impatient and inevitably I end up with a rhythmically impotent limerick. I really see the value in intermezzo poetry. It could help quiet my spirit and get me refocused. Thanks!

  2. oddznns says:

    Tomdub, thank you!
    I really enjoy your writing too…. You’re good. It’s time to put more of them on your blog.

  3. Poets United says:

    Thank you for joining Poets United. I have added your blog to our blogroll so others can discover you and your wonderful poetry. Poets United is what you make of it so explore, comment often and it will lead to folks doing so in return. We look forward to visiting your blog and reading your poetry.

    Ink runs from the corners of my mouth
    There is no happiness like mine.
    I have been eating poetry.
    ~Mark Strand

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] butterfly tree has no essence” one picture perfect string of words done, one […]



Leave a comment